It’s Read Self Published Month!

Read Self Published is a time to celebrate self-published and indie published authors and to break the stereotypes that still surround the self-pub community.

To get the word out about self-published books, the team at Read Self Published have arranged a variety of events to run throughout April. These include a Read Self Published WebPage and daily Facebook takeovers. So far there have been giveaways, news and members reading chapters of their work. I’m sure there’ll be much more as the month goes on. In addition to that, there is also a blog tour involving around thirty authors. I am delighted to be involved, and today is my day to host the blog tour. I would like to share a little bit with you about myself and my writing.

For those new to this blog, in many ways I am an accidental author. It was never my intention to write, I just started researching my family history and found a story that just had to be told.

That was back in 2009/2010, but it was November 2016 before I released my first short story, Condemned by Fate.  I then had to wait until March of this year to publish my first full-length novel, Hooks & Eyes. The delays were partly because I had no idea what I was doing, partly because there was a lot of research that went into each book and partly because I wanted them properly edited and proofread. Fortunately, I found some marvellous editors and I was delighted earlier this month to get a GOLD Quality Mark from the Books Go Social team for Hooks and Eyes.

Both books form part of The Ambition & Destiny Series. Condemned by Fate is a prequel and ultimately the main series will have five parts, each one leading on to the next.

The series is set in Victorian England. The main story starts in 1846 when the lead character, Mary Jackson, moves to the town of Birmingham with her two small children. The story that follows is a mixture of love, loss and betrayal that sees the fortunes of the family rise as well as fall. Sadly for my ancestors, it also shows the darker side of Victorian life.

I will be giving more details about the inspiration to write the series in the post later today, but for now, I’ll leave you with links to the books should you be interested in taking a look at them.

Hooks & Eyes is available on Amazon and is free as part of Kindle Unlimited. The paperback is due in April 2017.

Condemned by Fate is also on Amazon, but you can also download a free electronic copy from my website.

HooksandEyes FINAL small   CondemnedByFate_FINAL_small

About Val McBeath

Born and raised in Liverpool (UK), I live in Cheshire with husband, youngest daughter, and cat. In addition to family history, interests include rock music and Liverpool Football Club. Prior to writing, I trained as a scientist and worked in the pharmaceutical industry for many years. In 2012, I set up my own consultancy business and now split my time between business and writing.
This entry was posted in Self-publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

