Becoming a Published Author

Condemned by Fate – Now Published!

Condemned by Fate

A Prequel

It all happened quite quickly and quietly really. After months of pulling together my short story, reworking it after the editing, making sure the formatting was right and then navigating my way through the IRS tax exemption questionnaire on Amazon, suddenly my book was up there on Amazon, waiting to be reviewed and formally accepted.

They said it could take up to 72 hours and so, although I had the expected butterflies in my stomach when I pressed submit, in reality I was quite calm. What I didn’t expect was that approximately four hours later I would get a message back from KDP saying that my book was now published. Just when I was having a night off too!

So there it is, without any fanfare or even a celebratory glass of anything, I’m a published author!

The gloss was taken off the ‘launch’ a little, when, for some reason, the description didn’t show on my Amazon page as it should. I immediately went in to change it, but that takes time, and even when the changes were made, the text I added had been removed again. I’ve no idea why and I feel a little frustrated that you can’t preview it before you submit.

Nevertheless, it’s up there and available, now with the correct book description! I know the hard work of making it’s presence known is about to start, but this book is my trial run.

It is a short story prequel to The Ambition & Destiny Series and I am offering it as a free pdf download to email subscribers. The main reason I put it onto Amazon was to familiarise myself with the system. I’ll also use it to practice my advertising techniques and see how it goes. The main series is still to come … and that’s what I’ve given six years of my life to so far. When I get to launch that, I want to know what I’m doing.

It feels strange to have my work out in the real world for people to see and (hopefully) comment on. I just hope the comments are on the positive side.

If you’d like a free copy of the book, click here and complete the box at the bottom of the page. Alternatively, click here for a link to my Amazon page (still sounds unreal!)

The Ambition & Destiny Series is a compelling saga of love, loss and betrayal set against the backdrop of Victorian England. Part 1 is due for publication in early 2017.

 

 

About Val McBeath

Born and raised in Liverpool (UK), I live in Cheshire with husband, youngest daughter, and cat. In addition to family history, interests include rock music and Liverpool Football Club. Prior to writing, I trained as a scientist and worked in the pharmaceutical industry for many years. In 2012, I set up my own consultancy business and now split my time between business and writing.
Aside | This entry was posted in Self-publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Becoming a Published Author

  1. Pingback: Becoming a Published Author | From Story To Book

Leave a Reply

