New Look

Maybe it’s due to the start of a new year, but I’ve two very exciting pieces of news this month. The first is that I have now finished the first draft of my book (:D), and the second, which you may have already noticed, is I have a new look to the blog.

Almost four years after I started what I thought would be a short story, I now have the full draft of a trilogy that comes in at around 345,000 words! I know there is a lot that needs correcting and re-working, but there is still a great sense of achievement, which at the moment is giving me a lot of momentum to get it finished. I’ve made a start on editing Book 1 and so far I’m pleased to say that it seems a lot easier than writing from scratch. Book 2 is likely to be harder as it has had no previous re-working, but I’ll keep you posted!

And so to the new look blog. I hope you like it. It still contains the same content, but I realised recently that the old theme didn’t allow me to do the things I now want to and hopefully this one will.

In addition to the theme, there is a new header, which links to something I have been working on over the last couple of months, namely a new author site.

The two sites will remain separate, with this blog focussing on my day to day struggles to get my book written and published, while the author site will focus more on the book itself, giving some background to the area it is set in, life in Victorian England and (eventually) snippets from the book. It’s still in the early stages of development but please take a look and let me know what you think.

I chose the image above because it shows Birmingham (England) in 1829, and the book starts shortly after that, in 1846. I want to give visitors an idea for what life was like almost two hundred years ago, as it is very different from today (Birmingham is now the second most populated city in the UK after London).

The reason for the author site came about because, as I mentioned in November 2014, I’ve started a 12-month challenge to get my book finished and published. While that is still a stretch target, it has focussed my mind on things that need doing to build interest in the book prior to publication.

I will be going down the self-publishing route and so websites and social media seem to be the way to go. I’ve already started a Pinterest site to share some pictures I will use on the website, and I plan to set up a dedicated Facebook page soon. The big challenge once all these sites are live will be to keep them updated, but I’ll give it my best shot.

If you are interested in visiting my author site, please click here

Thanks for your continuing support

About Val McBeath

Born and raised in Liverpool (UK), I live in Cheshire with husband, youngest daughter, and cat. In addition to family history, interests include rock music and Liverpool Football Club. Prior to writing, I trained as a scientist and worked in the pharmaceutical industry for many years. In 2012, I set up my own consultancy business and now split my time between business and writing.
Aside | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

