Nearly There

Am I a failure or have I got something to be proud of? Despite the fact that it started so well, over the summer I feel I have become a complete failure at posting regular blogs. It is so easy to let the months go by and I often find that once I’ve lost the momentum to do something, it’s difficult to pick it up again. However, starting again is precisely what I’m going to do and hopefully by writing here that I will post monthly, I have something to be accountable to.

Should I be too hard on myself though, as I haven’t exactly been sitting around doing nothing. What I have done, and I’m getting very excited about, is nearly finished the first draft of what has now become my trilogy. Back in February, I acknowledged that the book was likely to be too long for a first book, but it is only in the last few weeks that I have mentally acknowledged that I will publish it as three separate books. So what brought me to this realisation? I think the main thing is that I have signed up to a challenge to get a book published in twelve months,* and while I was listening to the accompanying podcasts, looking at my word count and trying to devise an elevator pitch, the penny finally dropped.

Based on current estimates, I expect the word count to be of the order of 320,000 words (over 290,000 already written), and I’m aiming to get it finished by the end of the year. I expect the length will drop once I start editing, but hopefully it won’t change the strategy. With that in mind, I’ve started to think about getting it published, but from what I’ve seen so far, that is not something for the faint hearted. I haven’t got a clue where to start (one of the reasons I joined the twelve month challenge), and so that’s another new journey for me to start in the New Year.

I mentioned above that I’d had a go at writing an elevator pitch. It’s harder than it sounds to condense over 300,000 words into something you can read/speak in just thirty seconds, but my first attempt is below. Let me know what you think.

In 1846, at the age of twenty-six, Mary, a widow with two young children leaves her rural home to find a new life in the nearby town of Birmingham, England. She marries the ambitious Mr Kerry and together they prosper and become respected members of the community.
Harriet is a wilful young woman who subsequently marries Mary’s eldest son, William. She refuses to conform to the role society expects of her and pays a heavy price for her convictions. Ultimately her ambitions bring the family to the brink of destruction – although there are some who walk away with everything.

* The 12-month Author Challenge can be found at: http://www.dreamplaywrite.com

About Val McBeath

Born and raised in Liverpool (UK), I live in Cheshire with husband, youngest daughter, and cat. In addition to family history, interests include rock music and Liverpool Football Club. Prior to writing, I trained as a scientist and worked in the pharmaceutical industry for many years. In 2012, I set up my own consultancy business and now split my time between business and writing.
Aside | This entry was posted in Family History and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nearly There

  1. Please don’t beat yourself up too much about not writing on your blog. You are first a writer so that comes first.Good luck with everything.

    Like

  2. Pingback: New Look | From Story To Book

Leave a Reply

